Listen to your own Unique Calling…

Create-Fate Enterprises

The Impostor Syndrome

I can remember on my first counseling job just out of college in my twenties being so afraid I was going to say or do something to make my prospective client’s experience worse. After all, who was I to be counseling someone else? Looking back I can see that I was afraid my own wounds would some how make me ineffective. Just underneath the surface was the belief that I should be perfect before doing any type of counseling. Now I know its my own wounds that make me effective. They are what allow me to understand and know what clients are going through. Text book theory isn’t enough. If you don’t know pain in your own life, how can you understand another’s? At the time I remember telling my supervisor about my discomfort and he said “Oh you have the imposter syndrome”. Imposter Syndrome defined: a…

View original post 702 more words

One thought on “Listen to your own Unique Calling…

Leave a Reply

